The iPhone’s passcode feature is an important way to keep prying eyes out of your personal data. But what if you forget your iPhone passcode? Entering the wrong passcode six times triggers a message that says your iPhone has been disabled. Whether you’ve gotten this message or just know you’ve forgotten your passcode, follow these steps to regain access to your iPhone.
The Solution Is To Erase Your iPhone or iPod touch
There’s really only one way to solve this problem and you may not like it: erasing all the data on your iPhone and, if you have one, restoring from backup. Erasing all data from your iPhone erases the old, forgotten passcode and lets you set up the phone again.
This may seem extreme, but it makes sense from a security perspective. If your iPhone was stolen, you wouldn’t want it to be easy to bypass the passcode and access your data.
The problem, of course, is that this approach erases all of the data on your iPhone. This isn’t a problem if you have a recent backup of that data you restore onto your phone (this is a good reminder: if you have access to your phone, make a backup right now and get in the habit of doing it regularly). But if you don’t, you will lose anything added to your phone between when you last synced with iCloud or iTunes and when you restore it.